Another Tale

Another Tale
Shot with Konica Minolta Digital Camera—the manly way to shoot a deer

Another Tale

They were here, but now they’re gone.

So free with death men are.

But let the Reaper summon them,

then it’s quite another matter.

Yes, quite another tale—

when Death calls to them . . .

. . . ‘n to things that truly matter,

they’ll never understand.

Author: Peter Schreiner

Ethical Vegan, Idealistic Anarchist and Practicing Nonconformist, Amateur Writer, Prolific Dreamer, Hardcore Misanthrope

17 thoughts on “Another Tale”

  1. I felt a warning to humans in your words, Peter… a reminder that we too are at the mercy of a reaper so perhaps think twice about killing animals. Great photo– no posing for this dear deer, clearly.

    Like

    1. Hi Diahann,

      We should all give a moments pause to how we treasure our lives and in the knowing that all species treasure theirs, then when the Reaper calls for us, we can go in peace.

      Yes, deer, something caught his attention clearly. But he is a beauty with his velvet antlers, isn’t he. Thank you, Diahann, peace to you and yours.

      Like

  2. Another powerful poem and great “shot” of a deer!

    Your words are so true of many humans. There is a casual disregard for non-human life yet a fear of their own death. As you say, that is “another tale” – another example of people’s double standards.
    Perhaps the whole of life is a preparation for death – the manner in which we conduct our life determines how we approach death. Well I certainly hope so. May all those who kill for pleasure writhe in anguish at the end!.

    Like

    1. For myself, not a day passes that I don’t give time to ponder death, mine and otherwise. You might think of it as mental calisthenics, and it gives to the appreciation of life, all life.

      As with any event—death, the grand finale—we must be prepared, and I believe I am. Also, I am quite curious of it.

      I believe living kindly the only way to die peacefully and confidently, regardless of the suffering given at the time.

      Thank you, Emy.

      Strength and courage.

      Like

      1. As Celeste notes, it is interesting that you ponder death every day. It is enviable that you live with constant appreciation of life. What has led you to this point? Do you follow the Buddhist tradition, as Celeste questions?

        For myself, I mostly take life for granted but with the knowledge that life can change in a minute. We have no control over so many things. For a brief period, when I had a life threatening tumour, I was filled with appreciation to live then slid back to old ways. I try to live kindly but know that I will die kicking and screaming, as I will believe I didn’t do enough. Of course this can all change 🙂

        Like

        1. Buddhism has influenced my life to be sure but I won’t label myself a Buddhist. Christianity has influenced my life too, much more so, but not in a positive way. Yet a positive result managed to free itself.

          To be clear, I’m not a Christian. Nor by any stretch of the imagination am I religious or spiritual either. I have no reason to believe in God, or evolution for that matter. If God(s) exist and they may, neither she nor her nobles have offered themselves to me. And evolution presents a poor case. I draw inferences of the mysteries, yes. But my conclusions are malleable and I don’t adhere to them, that’s fanaticism.

          I believe in life. And this I know, that all creatures desire life and I’ll not be a destroyer of theirs. But with life comes death. Yet from my study of electricity, I’ve learned that nothing is ever destroyed, it only changes from one form or state of being to another. And such, I trust, is our existence.

          Thank you, Emy. I do so enjoy our dialog.

          Strength and courage.

          Like

          1. I understand what you are saying. Although I was brought up in an extremely religious home (christian) this put me off any religion. I am an atheist, who believes that the battles between good and bad forces exist here on earth and even within ourselves. I try and contribute to the collective good. Perhaps this energy goes into a big electrical field after death, to be recycled, or as the Buddhist would say, to light another candle.

            Like

            1. Emy, sorry for the late response, it’s been a busy spring.

              I once claimed Atheism too, but I shy from that now. However, that’s not to mean I am a theist. No, in fact you might say I am an anti-theist. I’m not agnostic either; that would imply the possibility of their gods. And we see where their gods have taken us; and if this is the best their gods can do then they are no gods at all, merely fabrications of their own minds. Yet I believe in something, probably more in line with your thoughts, I don’t know what really. It’s a mystery and I’m content to leave it at that, for now.

              The best to you.

              Like

  3. My mom was telling about this Natl Geo special she saw about a man who lived amongst mule deer for much of his life and it was about the depth of the social and emotional bonds between the deer and how the man became almost part of their family. Do you know anything about this?

    Like

    1. Hi Cindy.

      No I’ve not seen nor heard of it, but from what you tell I’d love to see it.

      I know that animals, many animals, would treasure friendships with us humans if only we would give them the opportunity. Our chickens, like our ducks, like our cats, and like our dog, have formed very close relationships with us. They greet us, sit on our laps (well, the ducks don’t), talk to us, and their love is evident in the way they look and snuggle up with us.

      Can you imagine a world were we live among free animals as equal beings instead of this hardened reality they suffer through. Aha yes, perhaps somehow someday this will be. Then, just maybe then all earth’s inhabitants can live in peace. I believe all our wars, strife, greed, and hate have their very roots in the way we treat animals. And as the conspiracy theorist I’m purported being, I believe this was no accident but careful planned and orchestrated. . . but I wax verbose, sorry.

      Thank you, Cindy, I’ll see if I can’t find this Nat Geo. I’m quite ready for a happy story.

      Like

  4. Powerful words Peter! I’ve been reading through the comments and I find it interesting that you ponder death everyday. I know, in theory, this is a healthy way to become comfortable with death. I believe it’s something that is recommended in the Buddhist tradition. Still, shy away from such thinking. I hope to find the courage to go there one day. Celeste 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Celeste.

      With our species death is a taboo, isn’t it. But, I think, the fate of us all, at least most of us. This culminating moment of life should be approached courageously and without self-pity. After all, how can we prevent it? Or, do we really want too?

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

  5. Peter, your words are direct and unpretentious…maybe those are close to the same…which reminds me of everyone I meet here in Alaska. They say what needs to be said and remain perpetually aware that death just might have the next move. Thank you so much for following my blog. I look forward to walking some of the journey with you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

