Premio Dardos Award

Premio Dardos Award
Premio Dardos Award

First Ever Award

I never expected an award for my poetry; my purpose here is not one of popularity but rather to deliver a message—and that message I hope is clear with a bit of sting to it. Nonetheless, I’m flattered that Ruth Brodrick at I-Read nominated me for my poetry for the Premio Dardos Award.

What is the Premio Dardos Award

Premio Dardos means “Prize Darts” in Spanish. It is given for recognition of cultural, ethical, literary, and personal values transmitted in the form of creative and original writing.

There are three rules with this award:

  1. Accept the award by posting it on your blog along with the name of the person that has granted the award and link to his or her blog
  2. Include the image of the “Premio Dardos” in the post
  3. Pass the award to another 15 blogs that are worthy of this acknowledgement

Arguing With Myself

Surely you must see the difficulty facing me in accepting this award, as every blog I follow–and there are more than 15 mind you–is due award in its own light; if not, I’d not follow it. And so at the risk of offending some, I argued with myself as to whether or not to accept Premio Dardos. It was at times a much-heated argument that nearly erupted to fisticuffs. However, I was able to agree with myself and come to conclusion that to ignore Ruth’s recognition would be insult to her. And just as importantly, I would not miss opportunity to rain special acknowledgement upon those who I admire. And too it might come that I introduce bloggers of similar concerns. As such, I accepted the honor.

My selections being limited to 15 blogs, I’ve devised a rather selective process.

A Selective Selection Process

  • You must be a follower of Crows Head Soup. This was not decided without a great deal of remorse. (I have made one necessary exception to this that I shall not draw attention to (after all, it is my selection process and I reserve the right to deviate (so much for fairness, eh)))
  • You must be an active participant with Crows Head Soup.
  • You must be part in the liberation of animals, or be one whom I feel through our interaction has taken to heart to some appreciable degree the cruelty man has inflicted upon our fellow earthlings.
  • And you must have posted a post to your blog within the last 30 days, give or take.

And so, with the whittling of several notable blogs whittled off–and if I recall my alphabet correctly, I present in nothing more than alphabetical order, my nominees.

My Nominees

  1. Animal
  2. Animal Spirits, The
  3. Central Oregon Author Rob London
  4. Deconstructing Myths
  5. Fur Out the Closet
  6. MK
  7. Nicciattfield
  8. Poetry Whisperer, The
  9. Rational Outlook
  10. Rethinking Life
  11. Sonmi Cloud
  12. Stories from the Belly
  13. Voices From The Margins
  14. Walking With The Alligators
  15. WTFAW

Finally, and though beginning a “new year” in the midst of a season seems a bit strange and somewhat suspicious to me, I wish you all a happy new year.

Author: Peter Schreiner

Ethical Vegan, Idealistic Anarchist and Practicing Nonconformist, Amateur Writer, Prolific Dreamer, Hardcore Misanthrope

16 thoughts on “Premio Dardos Award”

  1. Alas, my arguments with myself rarely end without bloodshed. Fortunately, for us you prevailed. Congrats on the well deserved award and thank you for the nomination!

    Here’s to old muses and new poems in the nascent year, Peter.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Congratulations! Your award is well deserved indeed and I’m glad to see you get some extra recognition for your powerful work. And then I see I am on your list. Why thank you Peter! It is my first award too, and I am honoured that you consider me worthy, not just for the terms of the original award, but your own too.

    • sonmi curtsying and smiling upon the Cloud.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. I’m so glad to hear that your important work has been recognized, Peter! You help us remember those who suffer greatly and needlessly – “the innocent of forest and plain” (Gibran, The Prophet, 20202, p, 23), the imprisoned and force-fed, that are sacrificed for the hubris of humankind. And thank you for nominating Voices from the Margins.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Congratulations for your nomination, Peter. And, thank you. I am no poet to be sure, but the notion of poison darts is an interesting one. What kind of effect would I like to put on the tip of my arrows? The beastie who wrestled with you has come to my house!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Peter, thank you very much! I am honored for you to think of me. I really appreciate the work that you do here and how you don’t shy away from, as you said above, “deliver a message—and that message I hope is clear with a bit of sting to it.” You strike me as someone who is clear in your convictions and are willing to stand for all of it, no need to soften or butter up or dilute, your truth is your truth. My significant other, who you also named above, and I will sometimes talk about you and your posts and how much we enjoy your writing. Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Peter, your award is well deserved. I love your stuff and you are a staunch and uncompromising voice for and defender of animals. Thank you also for honoring me and my blog, it means a lot coming from you. Happy New Year 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  7. Peter ~

    Everybody who reads your work knows how gifted you are. How wonderful to have received recognition from your peers. As you know, I am a huge fan. I got all excited to see The Animal Spirits on your list of nominees and thought to myself, “this is one of those accidental upsides to choosing a blog name that begins with the letter “A.” 😉

    Although there are a handful of bloggers on your list that I am already following, I’m going to go through the list and visit all one-by-one.

    Congrats! Keep transmitting your powerful message!

    ~ Gerean

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Well deserved, Peter 😀
    You are truly talented with words and thank you for being such a powerful voice for all of us who care about other species.
    I am honoured to be on your list of nominees ~ it helps to feel part of a committed community.
    My best wishes for 2015.
    Emy xxx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Peter, congratulations. Thank you so much for nominating me too! It came at such a good time too. I’m going to be doing research this year on the connection between valuing the non-human world and social justice or awareness, and the encouragement and kindness I got from you and some of the other bloggers while exploring this has encouraged that step. The posts we share and the thoughts that get shared all make a big difference. Thank you, Peter.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

