Remember and Always

Remember and always, there is ever more than meets the eye, the senses, and wonder of mere mortals. Who among you know the grandeur, the power, the absolute that dwells within us and beyond us once the plague of official narrative forgotten?

You may stand before the Goddesses and Gods of eternity
before the spirits of now and ancient; woman, creature, and man
as equal, worthy

Never bow your head in submission
as do the cowardly pretentious with deeds to hide

Never grovel for favor nor beg forgiveness
as do the fearful hypocrite sycophants who beseech on hands and knees

Accept Their admonishments, welcome Their gifts
all with courage, strength, and gratitude

Befriend Their offerings of Wisdom, Peace,
and the most gifted treasure of all, Compassion

Have no part in cruelty
either by your hand or in your name

With every sentient creature be as one equal
neither higher nor lower but shoulder to shoulder let stand

You, the protector of each and all, great and small

Then, come time,
may you die with your fear set aside
your compassion rippling across the oceans of time

Author: Peter Schreiner

Ethical Vegan, Idealistic Anarchist and Practicing Nonconformist, Amateur Writer, Prolific Dreamer, Hardcore Misanthrope

50 thoughts on “Remember and Always”

      1. I did not. But it does strike at the heart of the first commandment, and some call it the greatest commandment, “thou shalt have no other gods before me.” While elsewhere it reads, “For I am a jealous God, by God.” Maybe not that last part.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. My apologies then; I clearly was reading an ironic element into the piece where none was intended. I have a tendency to do that, to read signals into things regardless, ironic or otherwise – a residual effect of a highly misspent youth!

          Liked by 2 people

  1. Eloquently-said, Peter –

    “Have no part in cruelty
    either by your hand or in your name

    “With every sentient creature be as one equal
    neither higher nor lower but shoulder to shoulder let stand

    “You, the protector of each and all, great and small”

    A code to live by, for sure …

    Liked by 2 people

  2. “With every sentient creature be as one equal
    neither higher nor lower but shoulder to shoulder let stand” – Having seen the following video a few days ago, I was instantly reminded of it when I read the above, and these lines. I’m hoping the link works, let me know if not.

    A fine set of commandments indeed Peter, though less ‘command’ and more ‘kind’ I’d say smiling.

    sonmi upon the Cloud

    Liked by 3 people

    1. The link works well, for which many thanks, and what a fine advocate that chap Gary is. I could have done without the soundtrack, even if it was by an old buggle-mucker-mate of mine. Yes, you are right, Peter’s admonitions are hardly of the biblical command variety, or if they were, then it would be a far better kind of bible that American’s could teach about in their public schools.

      Liked by 2 people

          1. Because I was looking for another image, I found this one too, I remember it from about 8 years ago, I always did like it, the blessing is universal, my kind of blessing.

            Liked by 2 people

  3. Powerful words, beautifully expressed. Thank you Peter, for spreading the message of compassion in this way ❤

    If only we all had no part in cruelty
    either by your hand or in your name.

    What a wonderful world that would be …

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Hey glad that I found your blog…I was reading your about session and I though to ask you out of immature curiosity if you have ever read GK Chesterton? I think you may like his writing or hate him…

    “An artist is identical with an anarchist,’ he cried. ‘You might transpose the words anywhere. An anarchist is an artist. The man who throws a bomb is an artist, because he prefers a great moment to everything. He sees how much more valuable is one burst of blazing light, one peal of perfect thunder, than the mere common bodies of a few shapeless policemen. An artist disregards all governments, abolishes all conventions. The poet delights in disorder only. If it were not so, the most poetical thing in the world would be the Underground Railway.’
    ‘So it is,’ said Mr. Syme.
    ‘Nonsense!’ said Gregory, who was very rational when any one else attempted paradox.”

    ― G.K. Chesterton, The Man Who Was Thursday: A Nightmare

    Cheers!

    Caleb

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Greetings Caleb,

      I love the quote! Absolutely do. “He sees how much more valuable is one burst of blazing light, one peal of perfect thunder, than the mere common bodies of a few shapeless policemen.” Not that I throw bombs mind you.

      And no, I’ve never read G.K. Chesterton, but I think you right, I think I’d like him. I must sometime look up his works.

      Thanks for stopping by Caleb, peace.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I second, third and fourth all this. I’ve lately been struck about how so often civilization only sees the surface of things as opposed to everything else beneath that’s really going on. Love the reminder that we are protectors and not just mere mortals.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Diahann,

      Yes, as though they mesmerized by sorcery’s enchantment. Unwilling to break the spell, so very much easier is life never confronting that which lurks beneath the surface. Because once you know, there’s no turning back.

      Thank you, Diahann.

      Peace

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Peter, Wisdom Keeper, Prophet, do you think it would make a good post on Tales? or do you think it’s too gothic and for a small audience only?

        I’m not sure about it, usually I write poetry or post news items, this is a bit out of character for me, whatcha think?

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

