Facebook

Well, today, I did it.

To speak my mind on the subject of liberty for all earthlings, I’ve created a page on the much-loathed arm of the NSA, Facebook, titled The Vegan Anarchist.

And if you have a Facebook page, although I am not suggesting you create one, if you have one I invite you to share in the discussion. But by all means, do not feel obligated. I’m not groveling for numbers to fill the Likes this page. I’m not quite that vain. But rather I’m looking for contributors of quality content and comment. In fact, I will consider editors to the page, if any are interested.

While Facebook is not my preferred platform, it nonetheless caters to a broad following, although it seemingly one of a short attention span. Videos and pictures with short blurbs overlaid being the thing that seems to draw the most reaction; but readings of any length and substance, not so much. As such, I believe there are things I can say, post, and create to feed to this crowd and perhaps nourish their awareness. That’s is the goal, we’ll see where it leads.

Author: Peter Schreiner

Vegan, Anarchist, Writer, Poet. Planted on Planet Insanity. Poisoned by the wrath of humanity. Purpose, earthling liberation.

21 thoughts on “Facebook”

  1. The page isn’t available if one is not a “User” of Facebook — yup, that’s what FB calls its members.

    Some pages are created so that they can be viewed even if one is not a “User”, is there a way to set your page for viewing by everyone?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m a “User” of Facebook, so I’ve visited (and like) Vegan Anarchist and would enjoy contributing snippets of vegan content with the anarchist in mind. I also agree that short content is the norm there and that it’s important to voice vegan thoughts in public. BTW I am also a “User” of vegan products.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It looks good, I hope it gets lots of attention and gets lots more people thinking and questioning, god knows the world needs it. I have ambivalent feelings too towards facebook too, it being watched and controlled of course, as you say, but still, it is a platform many, many people use, on a daily basis, so even though I hate it, it is part of the world and can be used to connect.I too am a ‘user’, I only started it along similar reasons, just to link and post stuff about animals, truth etc., I did get disillusioned with it and haven’t been on for a while, but I will go on soon and share your page. You have to keep trying don’t you?? It gets so frustrating but what can you do but keep on trying?? Good luck with it!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I had a FB a few years back when I got frustrated with it and closed it down. This time is going to be different though. I’ll keep this going as long as there is interest. At least that’s my plan. Thanks for the well-wishes.

      Peace.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Speaking truth to trillion-dollar enterprises is daunting, but I prefer it to the “sit down and shut up” school of thought. I share the same trepidation with FB, but making ideas available to a wider audience led me to go ahead and make discomfiting statements and to think critically. Majority rule is tyranny, it’s expedient, soul-deadening and planet-threatening. And the celebration of ignorance is some ugly stuff. So Vegan Anarchy is a breath of fresh air.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I have liked and shared your posts, for what it’s worth, not many people view mine, precisely because they know what it is all about,which is frustrating, but there are some who connect and pass it on, we can just keep trying.Your words and images are powerful and moving and I wish so many more people would take the time to take them to heart. Thank you.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I have few to none react to my personal posts. In fact, I only have 15 social media friends, four of which are vegans. But that’s 11 others who are exposed to my exhortations whether or not they react; it may have a subliminal value.

          Like

  4. I’m not on FB Peter. I must mention again that despite following you here, I had no notification of this post and discovered it only by coming here to check for new posts given that same past problem. Something’s definitely up with WP. I got no email notification and it wasn’t in my Reader, yet it does show me as following here right now.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I believe you are correct, something is up with WP. I think computers and their associated software complicated to the point where not one person, or even one department, knowing all the intricacies of their own doing.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know there’s nothing you can do about it, but hope time will magic up a fix. It is odd that certain themes appear to present the same problems though. I think your observations are spot-on, Peter, and know for a fact that mini wars sometimes break out between different coding departments – “you fix it”, “no you fix it; your sloppy code caused it!”, and so on.

        Liked by 1 person

          1. That’s a nicely crafted and very well thought-out piece; thankyou Peter – I enjoyed that. My blogging friend Mike @ WP Selfawarepatterns is always writing about AI and machine consciousness, so I have a loose feel for the issues involved. There’s a book by a British chap called Roger Penrose called ‘The Emperor’s New Mind’, and which has a marvellously sardonic foreword and afterword on machine consciousness – I don’t suppose you’ve read it have you? Penrose rejects the idea that consciousness is algorithmic, and which is elsewhere widely assumed to be the case.

            I obviously wouldn’t know, myself, but I think the court is still out on whether machine dystopias could ever become a reality. Personally, I think machine consciousness is rather a male obsessive fantasy – as the article you link to tangentially suggests – and the various future scenarios being hypothesised are perhaps a touch too imaginative. I rather like Donald Fagen’s satirical and sardonic musical take on fifties utopianism, and which now seems to have transmuted into dystopianism. Nothing much will happen in our lifetimes, or in our offspring’s, of that we can be certain.

            https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Roger_Penrose
            https://aeon.co/essays/your-brain-does-not-process-information-and-it-is-not-a-computer

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I connected with this article. Because how often it is in my conversations with someone that they say something that brings up a “memory.” Then, I’d be perplexed, trying to understand from where the memory came. That is, if the conversation had not summoned that particular historical moment in my time, I could have never recalled it on my own. That to me, suggest the “memory” wasn’t in my head. Where it was, I had no idea.

              Robert Epstein makes a good case, far better than I realize, I’m sure. I like it, and I share his thoughts on the IP comparison, but I’m still struggling for a conclusion.

              Thanks for the link, I enjoyed it.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

