Simulation Hypothesis

Cosmic Winter Wonderland
Cosmic “Winter” Wonderland — Image via NASA

Of all things in the mighty universe,
the planets, moons, stars, and unfathomed space.
And so many life forms that came to be:
in the forest, hills, plains, mountains, and sea.
Of all inanimate objects there are,
why did I become this man that I am?
A curse, a blessing, my soul’s regressing.
Oh, why couldn’t I just never have been?
Never have end for never had begin!
There are no answers, and yet I drudge on,
knowing well the answer will never dawn.

We have no explanations, only dubious hypotheses to questions of our origin, our purpose if any. Only fools profess to know the unknowable. Myself, I can’t help but wonder, is it all an illusion, the fancy profusion of fake realities? A computer simulation, a binary stimulation? A contest, to see who wins and who loses. Who rises above the cruel and mundane? Then what is the prize awaiting the wise? And what of the fate of the losers?

Simulation Hypothesis

Author: Peter Schreiner

Vegan, Anarchist, Writer, Poet. Planted on Planet Insanity. Poisoned by the wrath of humanity. Purpose, earthling liberation.

11 thoughts on “Simulation Hypothesis”

  1. You were born human, and given a kind loving soul in order to help those who cannot speak for themselves. And you do it admirably Peter. Humans have the capacity to be kind, and good, and that’s something that spells hope for the species methinks. It doesn’t really matter if it is an illusion, a cruel game, or contest . . . it simply is as it is we must work with what we have. And we have you smiles

    esme nodding upon the Cloud

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I’m not sure if it would make any difference to me Peter, emotionally speaking, if it were proven that I was some sort of software program made sentient — that would almost certainly demand a biological basis come what may, and by definition. On an intellectual level, I would then know for certain that there are beings (or algorithms) of greater intelligence, but then knowing I am an ape (we disagree on the evolutionary basis for this position of mine, granted), I rather suspect there are such greater intellects in any case. My own pet theory is that we’re here to contribute towards making the universe aware of itself, as that is what gradually appears to be happening.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. I agree, Hariod. It is what it is so what difference should it make. I’m with you. I would hope there is greater intelligence than ourselves somewhere in the universe even if the universe isn’t more than a fancy algorithm. Thanks for the comment, Hariod.

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I still think we are a science project, or a prison planet, or beings no other beings in all the other universes want to be near and why would they? I don’t want to be near us. When I was younger I used to think there was such a thing as enlightenment, as truly making a difference but that’s all busy work made to distract us from what’s really going on. The bottom line is that we are a heartless species that destroys everything that exists. We torture, murder and eat/wear the flesh/skin of other living beings. Poison our own food, water and air. We are killers, nothing more. People who will tell you they are wonderful, smile as they eat other wonderful living life forms because they seem to think they have the right to kill whatever they like. We are egomaniacal, insane, heartless, greedy, hateful, VIOLENT BEYOND BELIEF and we are bullies who pick on women, children, different races and those who choose to live their lives outside the confining lines of the status quo. When we’re finished killing this planet, we’ll move to another and kill that one. I’m with you…why did I come here?

    Liked by 4 people

  4. Thanks for the relevant post, Peter. Simulation Hypothesis immediately reminded me of another touchstone — I’m a touchstone collector it seems — from way back there (relatively or relativityly) of the lyrics from the final stanza (appropriately enough) of “For a Dancer” by Jackson Browne:

    “Into a dancer you have grown
    From a seed somebody else has thrown
    Go on ahead and throw some seeds of your own
    And somewhere between the time you arrive and the time you go
    May lie a reason you were alive but you’ll never know”

    And a bright and shiny HELLO to fellow gatherers surrounding this here post. Wave Wave 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Very thought provoking post! The years I have spent thinking about this, searching, wondering, trying to make sense of things and to find a way to be able to cope with life and the strange extremes and what it all means; it has led me to very strange places, to explore many ‘far out’ ideas and concepts, that most people just won’t even begin to question or look at, and I’m still going…
    I think there is something ‘more’, ‘beyond’, ‘behind’ everything, whatever you want to call it, but as for the human species, well, i think there is something damaged there, something that with the manipulation of those truly in charge, is all too easily exploited and steered into the violent, chaotic mess we see everywhere. I won’t ramble, but good to see you thinking about these things too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

