The Adversary

The examination of Job, Satan pours on the plagues of Job, by William Blake. Illustration was made c. 1821.
The examination of Job, Satan pours on the plagues of Job, by William Blake. Illustration was made c. 1821. Public Domain

The Adversary

In a comment to an article, someone wrote (the same trite nonsense people often say to animal activists) that we should do more for our species than we do for animals. Oh, they of little understanding, exasperating. My reply, “You don’t get it, do you? I’m not on your side.”

I am the opposition. The enemy, the adversary of humanity.

And do you know why? Well, I’ll tell you why.

Because…

People start wars. But that’s the least of it. The result of their moral turmoil.

People are liars, cheaters, thieves, and cutthroats.

People are rapists, thugs, murderers, pervs and child abusers.

People are opportunists of no ethical conscience.

People enslave and destroy one another, the animals, and the earth.

People pit earthling against earthling in life to death battles: cock fights, bull fights, dog fights, any fight or representation of war will do, it doesn’t matter.

People cut the fins off sharks and throw the shark back into the ocean to die slowly, painfully, and helpless at the bottom of the sea. Fin soup for an expression of love.

People set dogs on fire, for kicks.

People put firecrackers up cats’ asses, for amusement.

People boil lobsters alive.

People pull the wings off flies.

People imprison animals in cages to delight themselves.

People dissect live animals to “better understand them.”

People brutally bludgeon seals and dolphins to death in a sea of blood.

People skin, shear, and rip the fur, feathers, and hide off live animals without a second’s thought.

People pound pigs to death with pipes. Because they want to eat them. Any means justifies the ends. Or does it?

People are deviously greedy, selfish, hateful, and gluttonous to an infinite degree.

And there you have it, my reasons for being, The Adversary.

But my list is by no means complete. The evil that humanity does and is willingly capable of would take the digital space the equivalent size of Jupiter to record. And then spill over into the endless abyss.

So, don’t ever, ever lecture me to do more for people than animals. And don’t ever mention the fleeting good humans are capable of. I’m sick of hearing it. It’s all mindlessly obligatory and self-ingratiating if it’s anything at all. And all so damnably overshadowed by the impenetrable darkness of their soul.

No, I’m not on your side, humanity.

You can’t possible get what you deserve. So, until you transmute — as few have done — into that lovingly caring heart-filled species you fancy yourselves to be, consider me your foe.

Because I am, you created me.

Now you must live with the wrath of my aim: To undermine your craft at every twist and turn, at every inkling of opportunity. This is war.

Author: Peter Schreiner

Ethical Vegan, Idealistic Anarchist and Practicing Nonconformist, Amateur Writer, Prolific Dreamer, Hardcore Misanthrope

21 thoughts on “The Adversary”

  1. So well said. I have way too many nice people in my life that still willingly participate in a host of atrocities upon others under the guise of morality. It ends when you QUIT, when you disallow others to do it, when you get in the way between the abused and the abuser — not when you wash it clean at church once per week.

    Liked by 7 people

  2. Straight from a warrior whose aim is true! Like I always say, “It is war, ain’t no g______ peace!”

    Peter, I am right there with you! And as you can see, it matters not if you point out the health benefits when we stop eating so-called ‘animals’ because the ‘animals’ are more ‘humane’ than ‘humans’. It doesn’t make a hill ‘o beans worth of difference when you point out the obvious that folks wouldn’t be sitting somewhere needing all up and down on some cholesterol medication, diabetes medication, heart medication and they wouldn’t be ‘antibiotic resistant’. None of that ever makes it through their grey matter. So, war it is!

    Another direct hit!

    Liked by 6 people

  3. I too am at war against humanity. Humans aren’t animals, they’re monsters. And I’m afraid the monsters won’t stop killing until there isn’t any life on the planet left to kill. I’m really AFRAID.

    I am totally with you. And I understand you completely. But can war be fought, and won, with mere words? Words that are for the most part only seen by a painfully few like-minded individuals?

    I hate seeing humans happy and enjoying their lives, while they simultaneously take the lives and every sliver of happiness from billions of others.

    I am sinking, fighting a losing war, seemingly all by myself… every moment of every day… profoundly aware of the suffering and pain of all the innocent animals I love so much. I can’t stand being around the monsters any more. They disgust me and sicken me to the core of my being.

    I LOVE this post so much… everything you wrote… brings tears to my eyes. I don’t personally know a single person who thinks like we do… no one who sees what monsters humans are. But as alone and helpless as I feel… I know it is NOTHING compared to what billions of beautiful, innocent animals go through every moment of their hellish lives. I would do anything for the animals… even go to real war for them.

    Thank you for this post, Peter. And thank you for being YOU.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Your comment resonates with me at every frequency.

      We are at war against humanity and their cruel indifference, no mistaking.

      And we are losing.

      Faster than the rise of veganism, humans spew from the womb, grow, and continue their onslaught against all that is good and decent.

      And I’m with you; they won’t stop until it is all lost.

      Humanity is a defective species. A disease.

      And we fight because that’s all we have left. And so very much is dependent on us that we cannot turn our backs.

      We’ve kicked, screamed, and clawed our way out of the shell of deception that imprisons humanity, and there’s no turning back. We’ve bought a one-way ticket out of the Matrix. And that Matrix is as real as humanity’s evil. And now that the veil of deceit is rent and cruelty exposed, our life’s will never again return to its former darkened state. And for that, I’m thankful, though the cost weighs heavy on our spirit, I know.

      But it is more than a war of words, I think. I hope. Our simple action of veganism is so much more. But if our words are seen by no one else, they build our resolve. Our camaraderie. Our collective force.

      I too would go to “real” war for the animals if there were any hope of success. But the time for that is not yet here if it will ever be. We could lose our lives or our freedom to prison. And then what good would we be to any?

      Life’s hard for you and me. Every day brings heartache, I know well. I can’t stress the pain I feel in words. Words are pathetically inadequate.

      I want to share with you a quote from Clint Eastwood in The Outlaw Josey Wales, that sums up our life perfectly: “Dying ain’t hard for [women and] men like you and me. It’s living that’s hard when all you’ve ever cared about has been butchered or raped.”

      Thank you, for being YOU.

      Liked by 3 people

  4. Thank you, Peter. These are distilled arguments that speak truth to power. They confront The Big Lie directly and forcefully — yours are not words carefully chosen to assuage the feelings of everyone. It takes dollars counted by the trillion to keep the bottom-line “healthy” at all cost.
    Meat processing facilities are death camps. How quickly would they close if it were necessary to tour those camps before you could purchase their product? But that wouldn’t be nice would it?

    Liked by 4 people

  5. You don’t know how much I needed to read this right now. Having had a rare few days, feeling beyond ‘alien’, it was so heartening to find this, expressing my own thoughts and feelings;I couldn’t have put it any better. I had just been writing about not being part of the human race, no connection at all, no one gets it, gets me. It’s there all the time, it never stops, in your face, everywhere, always. I cannot begin to express all I feel inside, it consumes me and sometimes I don’t know how to live with it all.
    I used to think there was hope, things would get better, people could and would change. Not anymore. People live in a world of dissonance and don’t want to wake up. We live totally different lives. I cannot relate.
    The dark vibrations grow and there is nowhere near enough awake,aware ones to make a ripple of difference. Humanity is tainted, damaged and I align myself with all the other earthlings, who suffer because of them, they are my kin, my family, my source of energy and inspiration.
    I’m so glad you wrote this, it gave me such a lift just when I needed one. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s good to see you back outsidersinsides!

      No, people won’t change. Not in any significant numbers. The masses are mindless Zombies living in the delusions presented them by our captors. They think they’re happy, but they’re not, they are miserable. And it’s as plain as the nose on their face; wars, strife, hate, jealousies, the list is endless.

      It may feel like it at times, but we’re not alone in this. But, I think we’d both rather be alone than a part of the criminal insanity.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you, you are very kind, and you’re so right about people, I’m done with them, totally, there’s no way to get through.
        I would also rather be alone than be a part of all this madness, I do feel more and more separate, that’s why it’s good to connect with people who see things the same way. There sometimes seems so few of us out there, it can be hard. That’s why these posts are so important. Thanks for sharing, it means a lot.

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Good quote I thought I’d share…..
    ‘Yet I also found my political commitments ridiculed far more than ever before, as animal rights provokes hostility from the arrogant people who enjoy power over animals, from the insecure who boost themselves by demeaning and exploiting animals, and from the guilty who do not want to confront their ignorance and implication in violence against animals. I took heart in the words of Emile Zola: “The fate of animals is of greater importance to me than the fear of appearing ridiculous; it is indissolubly connected with the fate of men.”’ Dr. Steve Best

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Some Homo sapiens are not very ‘sapient’, not because they are not intelligent enough (though often they are not), but because they use their intelligence (whatever amount of it they possess) to harm others.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Would it be OK if I cross-9posted this article to WriterBeat.com? I’ll be sure to give you complete credit as the author. There is no fee; I’m simply trying to add more content diversity for our community and I enjoyed reading your work. If “OK” please let me know via email.

    Autumn
    AutumnCote@WriterBeat.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

