Ebony


Somebody knows someone whose grandfather lives in the country and has a pond.

Enter Eby, short for Ebony.

My granddaughter, Megan, who I lovingly refer to as Megatron (The Evil Megatron), calls me. She tells me about her friend — who I’ll call Sue because I don’t remember her name. Sue spoke with the man who dropped a gosling off at a park in Louisville where she was spending the day. The gosling takes a liking to Sue, follows her like a puppy. Sue is concerned for the little goose, afraid she might wander into the road, afraid to leave her. Before he left, he tells Sue that Eby had a small wading pool to swim in and some other things I paid little attention to as Sue related the story to me, distracted as I was by this goose and our instant bond.

I know nothing of Eby’s past, other than she was well treated. Must have been, she takes to people. I don’t even know if she is a she. Perhaps she was rescued, and he thought it best to leave her in the company of her species once she’d grown. And maybe that would have been best. But it’s not what happened. Megatron and her friend brought Eby here and now follows me like a puppy; chattering, eating grass out of our hands. Eby gets along with Daffany the duck, the chickens, and cats though each is a bit hesitant of the other. She won’t sleep in the air conditioned coop with the other girls, insisting on staying outside. She nests on the dock at night. It’s a safe perch, 20 feet from shore with an unobstructed 360-degree view.

Eby’s been here two weeks. Since then, I’ve been teaching her to fly. Or at least building her confidence in the art of aerial acrobatics. It’s not that I can fly, mind, not in any waking sense. What we do is, she follows me to the back of the pond. I start running, and Eby runs a few paces behind, building speed, then takes off over the water. What started out as wings flapping air and feet slapping on top the water soon progress to full-fledged flight.

Today, we swam together.

I don’t know if Eby will stay with us once the geese start flying, maybe she’ll pick up with them. And maybe that would be best, for her. I’ll sure miss her, though.

Author: Peter Schreiner

Ethical Vegan, Idealistic Anarchist and Practicing Nonconformist, Amateur Writer, Prolific Dreamer, Hardcore Misanthrope

16 thoughts on “Ebony”

  1. Oh, Peter! Thank you for warming up my heart this evening. How fortunate to share time and space with Eby! In a way, I hope she/he stays, but wild is best. Enjoy your time while it lasts. Cheers!

    Liked by 6 people

  2. I’ve fallen in love with Eby! This is exactly why I’m getting out of Baltimore because you see the poor dogs that live here cooped up and being walked by their owners, instead of running wild like they do in my countrified hometown. They look so sorrowful here. I am going back to where there are ponds and streams and barns and open fields and animals that roam around free. My cousin was so aghast when he went to my hometown and saw animals he’d never seen before and a herd of goats were grazing in a field yonder there.

    I once thought I hated that life, but when you’ve lived in big cities, you grow to appreciate the simpler things in life, like a swim with Eby. Peter, I soon hope to be swimming near plenty of Ebys.

    Thank you for this moment of pure nostalgia!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Having lived in the cities both large and small, it took me some time to get used to the country life; although I immediately liked it, it was an adjustment. I would struggle to live in the city now. I think country living would do everyone good, the “cleaner” air, the quiet, the closeness to nature.

      Here’s to your country living, Shelby!

      Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this post so much. It’s so beautiful, sweet and kind of magical. She may decide to stay…unless instinct has its way. You will miss her if she leaves but the love you have for each other will last forever. Thank you again for this wonderful gift. ❤

    Liked by 4 people

  4. What a fantastic, heart-warming post Peter! I love it, love the clips, you and Eby there – wow – you have such a wonderful bond with her, with geese and ducks and more methinks. I enjoyed seeing you too, as we rarely get to see moving footage of our blogging friends, and I’ll be keeping these clips as they sum you up so perfectly.

    Esme diving in too from upon the Cloud

    Liked by 5 people

  5. Hey, I missed this in the WP shuffle — dang that all to heck, but all is swell that ends swell. And it’s swell to make Eby Ebony’s acquaintance. I stand in solidarity with esme quite verbatimly:

    “What a fantastic, heart-warming post Peter! I love it, love the clips, you and Eby there – wow – you have such a wonderful bond with her, with geese and ducks and more methinks. I enjoyed seeing you too, as we rarely get to see moving footage of our blogging friends, and I’ll be keeping these clips as they sum you up so perfectly.”

    Could it be more verbatim? I think not.

    At first I was afeared that a Ness-esque creature threatened Eby in motion picture number 2; however, I gradually recognized your countenance — and noted the absence of webbed feet. I also noticed that the moving picture was also a talkie.

    Please do keep us updated, Peter. You’ve an engaging and well written personal account here. I am pleased to join all fellow Eby fans in rousing cheer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

